悬浮 / Levitation

teamLab, 2021, Digital Installation, Sound: Hideaki Takahashi

悬浮 / Levitation

teamLab, 2021, Digital Installation, Sound: Hideaki Takahashi

球体犹如超越了质量的概念一般,既不顶天也不立地,或静静地漂浮在空间的正当中,或在空中上下起伏。当球体受到撞击时,就会落到地面上并会在地面上滚动。当没有受到撞击或打扰时,它又回仿佛在自我修复一般,慢慢回升到空中。

何为生命?比如说,因为病毒并不拥有生物学上所定义的最小单位的生命体:细胞,而且也不会复制增殖,所以被认为是在生物和非生物的边界线上存在的东西。在生物学里,到目前还无法定义到底是什么来左右物质最终成为生物或者非生物。

而另一方面,你,在明天也仍然继续保持是你,这是有违于“熵(shang)增定律”里有形物体会崩溃的理论的。一般被认为熵(表现混乱或者无序程度的物理量)在自然界中会朝着无限增大的方向发展,而生命却正相反。生命是与物理定律相反的,超越自然现象的存在。

1977年诺贝尔化学奖得主物理化学家伊利亚·普里高津发现,自然界存在需要借由,从外部摄取的能量后,在内部生成熵,并通过把这些熵向外部排出体外而才得以形成的,能够在非平衡状态中得以维持的秩序和构造。把能量(以及物质)往外部耗散从而减少内部的熵,并以此产生秩序。 也可以说生命体以将外界的能量作为食物来摄取,将熵作为排泄物向外部耗散,从而维持内部的熵保持不变。

生命可能是一种与外部环境相连的能量的秩序。
而由于生命的存在本身就是一种违背物理定律的超自然现象,所以当我们在作品的空间中创造能量的秩序时,球体便会仿若是是一种与物理规律相反的超自然现象一样,违背了万有引力,慢慢地漂浮起来,停留在空间的正当中,或在空中上下起伏。

当我们看到超自然现象(指超越自然界定律的现象)在眼前发生时,自身的认知本身就会发生改变。而这种认知上的改变,则会引导你进入 "与日常生活不同的状态"当中。
我们旨在通过艺术作品探索认知的变化。

Levitation

teamLab, 2021, Digital Installation, Sound: Hideaki Takahashi

Levitation

teamLab, 2021, Digital Installation, Sound: Hideaki Takahashi

A sphere levitates in the space between the floor and ceiling, floating up and down as through transcending the concept of mass. The sphere falls to the ground and rolls away when people hit or impact it. But if there is no external interference, it will slowly rise into the air again, as though restoring itself to its original state.


What is life? Viruses, for example, are considered to exist somewhere between living and inanimate because they do not have cells, the smallest unit of biological life, and they do not reproduce. What separates the living from the inanimate cannot be defined biologically to this day.


That you continue to be tomorrow who you are today is against the law of increasing entropy, wherein tangible things collapse. In other words, in a universe where entropy (a measurement of the lack of order in a system) is supposedly being maximized, life is an entity that resists this trend. Life can be thought of as a “supernature” phenomenon: an occurrence that defies the laws of classical physics.


Physicist and 1977 winner of the Nobel Prize in Chemistry, Ilya Prigogine, observed that in the natural world, when energy is absorbed from an external source, internal entropy is generated, then released. Prigogine discovered that there exists a non-equilibrium state that is only realized when this entropy is released. Through the dissipation of energy (or matter) and the removal of entropy, internal entropy is reduced and order is created. It can be said that living organisms take in energy from the outside in the form of food, disposing of entropy in the form of excrement, thereby preserving entropy.


Life can be thought of as an order of energy that is continuous with the external environment.

The existence of life can be thought of as a supernature phenomenon that defies the laws of physics. When an order of energy is created within the artwork space, the sphere transcends universal gravitation, violating physics as life does. The sphere slowly levitates, becomes suspended in the middle of the space, and floats up and down in the air.

When a person views the supernature phenomenon before them, it causes their perception to change, thus leading to a new cognitive experience that differs from that of everyday life. 

This artwork aims to explore changes in cognition.