人與人之間的關系 / Relationships Among People

2001

改變人與人之間的關系:讓他人的存在成為一種積極的體驗

像繪畫這樣的傳統媒體不會因觀賞者的存在或其行為而發生改變。藝術作品正是建立在與個體觀賞者之間的關系上。目前,對大部分藝術而言,其他觀賞者的存在往往會影響個體的觀賞體驗。如果有幸獨自一人徜徉於展覽中,你會覺得非常幸運。

如果藝術作品因觀賞者的存在或其行為而發生改變,那麼藝術作品與觀賞者之間的界限便會模糊。觀賞者個體便會成為藝術作品本身的一部分;同樣,如果藝術作品因為他人的存在而發生改變,那麼這些人也會成為藝術作品的一部分。藝術作品與觀賞者之間原本一對一的關系變成了一對多。五分鐘之前是否有觀賞者來過,以及旁邊觀賞者的行為就突然變得非常重要了。

數字藝術能夠改變共處同一空間內的人們之間的相互關系。如果他人與藝術作品的互動能夠創造美好的改變,那麼他人的存在本身就是一種積極的元素。

不僅藝術如此,在現代都市中,我們可能會因為他人的存在感到不適。我們無法理解或控制他人,所以只能選擇容忍。城市不會因為我們或他人的存在而改變。如果城市也能夠像藝術作品一樣,那麼他人的存在便可能成為一種積極的元素。這樣,藝術不僅可以創造人與人之間的新型關系,也可以創造城市與個體的新型關系,還能夠探索新的方式,為人們帶來和平。

Relationships Among People

2001

Changing the Relationships Among People: Making the Presence of Others a Positive Experience

Traditional media, such as paintings, do not change in relation to the presence of viewers or their behavior. The artwork is based on a relationship with an individual viewer. For the majority of art up until now, the presence of other viewers tends to constitute a hindrance. If you happen to find yourself alone at an exhibition, you would consider yourself to be very lucky.

When an artwork changes based on the presence or behavior of viewers, it causes the boundaries between artwork and viewer to become blurred. In this case, the viewer becomes part of the artwork itself. Similarly, when the artwork changes due to the presence of others, those people also become part of the artwork. This changes the relationship between an artwork and an individual into the relationship between an artwork and a group of individuals. Whether a viewer was present five minutes ago, or how the person next to you is behaving now, suddenly becomes important.

Digital art has the ability to change the relationships among people who are present within the same space. If the interaction of other people with an artwork creates change that we feel is beautiful, then the presence of others can in itself become a positive element.

This applies not only to art. Even in modern cities, the presence of others might be considered uncomfortable. We cannot understand or control others, so their existence around us is something that is simply tolerated. This is because the city does not change based on your existence or that of others. If cities were to become more like digital artworks, the presence of other people could become a positive element . In this way, the search for new relationships between people may be able to go beyond art, potentially creating new relationships between cities and individuals, as well as new ways to bring peace among people.